j3nny's profile picture

Published by


Category: Pets and Animals

[Note] Introduction to the Kingdom of Life

The Kingdom of Life includes 5 main categories, Animals, Plants, Fungi, Protoctists and Bacteria. The first 4 are known as Eukaryotes, meaning they are made up on Eukaryotic Cells. Eukaryotic Cells carry their DNA in Chromosomes and/or a Nucleus. Bacteria have Prokaryotic Cell, meaning their DNA is loose in their cells and they dont have a Nucleus. Prokaryotic Cells are 10-100 times smaller than Eukaryotic Cells. Virus', while not living organisms, are 10-100 times smaller than Prokaryotic Cells.


5-10 million different animal species.
Animals are multicellular, heterotrophs, and reproduct sexually.
(Heterotrophs get their energy from other organisms, aka eating.)

300k Species.
Autotrophs, they get their energy from sun and photosynthesis.

Both multicellular and unicellular.
Fungi CANT photosynthesize.
Hetrotrophs technically, but are referred to as a Saprotroph.
Saprophytic nutrition is when they digest the food outside their body by secreting enzymes, breaking down food, then absord nutrients.
Some multicelled Fungi are made up Mycelium, which is a body made using loads of thread like structures called Hyphae.
Though rare, some Fungi are considered Pathogens, meaning they cause disease in humans.

Majority Unicellular.
Extremely diverse, some can photosynthesize, some consume other organisms.
A few are Pathogenic.

Single Celled.
Live everywhere you can imagine.
Some can photosynthesize without Chloroplasts, but MOST feed off other organisms.
HUGE variety, but only a few cause disease.
A lot are helpful to us.

Not living, or cells, they are called particles.
They are made up of a protein coat, surrounding genetic material.
They can only reproduce inside living cells, so they have to infect living things.
They are paraitic.
All virus' are pathogens.

0 Kudos


Displaying 0 of 0 comments ( View all | Add Comment )