𖤐Salty𖤐's profile picture

Published by

published
updated

Category: Blogging

Salty's Monthly Recap | February 2026

So uh... February 2026, am I right? We just left the mess that was January only for some real fucked up things to be revealed to the public, which we are not going to mention here because these blogs are supposed to be pleasant, actually. Also, my country decided to start hating on therians over misinformation they didn't even try to looking into, because clearly teenagers in animal masks are a bigger problem than the things I vaguely alluded to in the previous line of text. Don't you just love people? Anyway... At least we suddenly started finding cures to a shitload of things, that's awesome.

In my life though, not much of note has happened, I did a two week long employability course and my sister's birthday is this month, love that gremlin even if she gets on my nerves often. Also, Pokemon Presents! Big pokemon fan, first ever hyperfixation, it's their 30th anniversary; Very important to me, even if it's not that big of a deal in the greater scheme of things. Not much of interest was shown but at least I get a new game to nerd out about.

Now, if you don't know how these monthly media log things work you can check the previous edition I did for January where everything is better explained, which I have linked right below this paragraph. But basically; In these posts I share everything I watch, read, play... etc that month, while also keeping track of everything I get into over the year, it's like those media threads people do in twitter.


Clevatess

Trigger Warning: This show touches on very dark subject matter. There’s also graphic violence, and the main antagonist’s defeat in the last episode does include quite a bit of body horror.Ā 

Ā A dark fantasy follows Clevatess, one of the four kings of dark beasts and who sounds an awful lot like Gold Bullet from Holostars ARMIS, a ā€œRPG final bossā€ type character who chooses to revive one of the 13 warriors he just swept the floor with, with the purpose of helping him raise a human child. The kids fate will decide whether or not Clevatess chooses to eradicate all of humanity for good. With beautiful visuals that take an artstyle fitting that of a modern anime while giving it that old cel animated 80s OVA vibes with the way things are colored and shaded. This is a great show that, while it is violent and touches on a lot of dark subject matter, specially in the first episodes, always shows a light at the end of the tunnel, specially as the episodes go on and it slowly becomes more hopeful, the villain has an understandable goal, there’s interesting lore and world-building, with fun plot twists towards the latter end of the season. The plot follows a story of continuous drama, struggle, defeat and a resilience that triumphs over all things. The story refuses to morally label its characters and was powerful enough to make me cry in the last episode. Also, the opening’s a banger. There is a reason this thing is on everyone’s top 10 anime of 2025.


Kinniku Jorei

A very fun little one shot manga about the ghost of a dead wrestler helping out a young boy with the misfortune of being a magnet for ghosts. It’s silly, it’s dumb, and it’s a lot of fun. The two main characters play well off each other, the art is great and there are some fun shenanigans to witness. You know this fairly often praised manga titled Red Hood? It’s by the same author.


Cosmic Princess Kaguya

Dare I say, peak? Great animation, great story, beautiful in every way, and it appeals to my folklore nerd brain. Interpolating a tale as classic as that of Princess Kaguya’s with very recent concepts such as vtubers, virtual reality. The flashy, dynamic and colorful visuals helped drive home the vtubing part of this movie even further, also the low-poly area in the gaming collab portion of the movie where a nice creative use of CGI I did not see coming. It follows the same basic premise as most retellings of the tale of Princess Kaguya; Moon baby born from bamboo shows up, someone adopts baby, baby quickly grows up as their new family get attached to her, and then baby has to go back to the moon to resume work as its princess. Despite how many times I’ve seen this tale play out this movie still managed to surprise me, in a good way too. Even if the storyline and characters are kinda simple, but effective and with great lesbian representation. Finally, the music and the work of the voice actors were great, as they should, given this is a movie about basically virtual idols. The music wasn’t all that unique, but it was still nice to listen to, even if not exactly my taste, I think it’s a wasted opportunity though that they didn’t get any big vtubers involved in the english dub knowing how many big name anime voice actors are also vtubers, but those are just nitpicks. Really, the only issue I have is that for a two hour long movie, it felt a bit too fast paced and crammed, but other than that it was still a great time.


Sonic the Hedgehog 2

The second sonic movie is one I wanted to see ever since it came out, but couldn’t due to money. Watching the first one with the boys is one of my most cherished memories from my teenage years, and Knuckles is one of my fave Sonic characters so let me tell you I was ecstatic when the movie started. This is basically an improved version of the first one, in all the right ways. Sonic gets his character developments, Tails and Knuckles are true to what makes them such great characters, and the wedding subplot might get a lot of flack but I thought it was really fun, Rachel is way more likeable this time around. I was smiling like an idiot for the entire two hours this movie goes on for. Not to mention the little references to the games, the Limp Bizkit joke which got me when I least expected it, and the way Idris Elba and Jim Carrey stole the spotlight, they were absolutely hysterical.


Butanero Ninja

I really want to like Butanero Ninja since a manga from my country is not something you see often, and I wanna support Spanish creators, but it’s just not my cup of tea. The idea of a Catalan art student fighting corporations at night with a secret identity themed around ninjas and a gas bottle delivery man is a fun idea that can also be really funny as a concept if you’re from Spain and get what the joke is, but the novelty wears off pretty fast. This manga relies so much on cursing, local expressions, and some anime references for its humor, which is kinda funny at first but the plot is episodic and kinda boring so unless you’re into this sort of jokes it gets old real quick. Also, the first two chapters recycle a bunch of drawing and puts them back to back too, it feels lazy. I can appreciate the art quality and the originality of the concept for this manga but that’s about it, it’s not terrible, just not my thing and probably neither most of y’all since this was definitely made with a Spanish public in mind. If you really wanna read it though you can read all of it for free on the author’s Instagram.


Hypnosis Mic: Before the Battle - The Dirty Dawg

I have occasionally dabbled in Hypnosis Mic content in the past, I’ve heard a couple of songs, and I’ve tried to watch the anime on two separate occasions, both in which I dropped it. Lately though I wanted to get a bit more into Hypmic and a friend directed me here. As you can probably guess, translating into manga a piece of media built purely around the media of rap battles doesn’t completely work out. They sure tried their darndest though. Lots of rap battles happen and the absence of music takes away a lot of the sauce, but at least they gave it a damn good try. Other than that this manga is gonna be an absolute banger if you’re a Hypnosis Mic fan, if not you might be a bit lost though. This was a deceptively serious and story heavy manga for what’s in essence a series about male idols having singing competitions, the lore runs deep and they pulled out a pretty engaging and unexpectedly heavy plot. I’ll admit I did not expect this to be this good, I think it’d be average, in line with what often happens when a licensed IP tries to expand to a different medium, but this thing is actually pretty good itself. It was fun to get some lore and explore the past of most big names, but that being said I’d only recommend this if you’re already a fan of the source material. It’s great, just not something to get into Hypnosis Mic with.

Honestly the biggest issue I had with it was accessibility, it took me ages to find an english translation anywhere, and the one I was able to access got uploaded out of order, in the end I was lucky to find one in Spanish that was actually in order, but it was a whole mess.


Fate/Stay Night

Finally getting into fate, so many of my friends are fate heads so I was excited to see what I’ve been missing. That was pretty good but I wouldn’t say great. I like that they kept the original game’s artstyle, I feel it makes it stand out against other anime, at the same time that makes this show look really ugly at times, especially in the earliest episodes, it gets better later on though. The CGI hasn’t aged great either, luckily they only used it a few times. On a more positive note, I enjoyed the story, I got pretty invested by the end, and there were some cool plot twists by that time. I also liked the cast a whole lot, specially the way Lancer and Shiro kept clashing, my fave part was Shiro and Tosaka’s bickering, they feel like real friends, also Saber was pretty cool too, even if I’m not completely crazy about her like everyone else seems to be. Gilgamesh, Lancer, Illya and Assassin are other characters I also enjoyed a lot even if they weren’t as big of a factor as the protagonists. Overall a good show like any other, on that 6 to 7/10 (don’t say it) range.


Tamagawa Wants to be a Cat

A short and sweet little TV special about a hotel worker getting taken in by a best selling novelist he met at a cat cafe, after falling asleep and having to be woken up. Very enjoyable 17 minutes of animated queer love with an adorable dynamic. Very light watch and absolutely heart-warming.


The Captive

Trigger Warning: There are some full on sex scenes. As well as a couple scenes that can be a bit hard to watch due to the subject matter being touched on, this is a historical drama after all.

This is a Spanish movie, I’ve been able to find it subtitled though if y’all are interested, no english dub though if y’all care about that. I’m not used to seeing Fernando Tejero in serious roles, most of his roles are in comedies so it was nice to see him play the priest character for a change in this way more serious movie. It was fun seeing him as a scheming little rat of a man. The rest of the cast was great, I just haven’t seen them before so I don’t have that much to say. There are some Don Quijote references that had me pointing at the screen like Leonardo Dicaprio in that one meme. The sets were great too. The best part of this movie was easily the character dynamics. I knew this was a good movie, but it was still better than I thought it’d be. Alejandro Almenabar can only do bangers.


All Is Lost

All is lost is a random movie I found on TV and decided to stick around for since the absence of dialogue intrigued me. A very long movie about a man just fighting for his life after his boat crashes with a stray shipping container. This little indie movie might not be my type of movie, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad. This is a very stressful movie that conveys the anxiety of a man lost at sea, in the middle of a storm with limited resources and face to face with his own mortality. You feel like you’re with him, lost in the middle of a watery hell, most of the heavy lifting done by the immersive soundscape, the complete lack of a soundtrack, and Robert Redford’s acting. One of those movies that make you go ā€œManā€¦ā€, not my particular cup of tea, but I get why people like it.


Immortal Legend Batman

This is a short six-issue long miniseries revolving around a tokusatsu themed variant of Batman, a real nice spin on the familiar batman formula, fun monster of the week action with an inventive new take on the usual batman mythos, the batfamily is a sort of sentai team, alfred is a robot, and the villains are reflections of Batman himself as usual, only this time its literal, and on top of that it happens in space… Not to mention all the aforementioned tokusatsu flair that give this series its very own vibes compared to most Batman media. All of these new components make Immortal Legend Batman one of the most fun I’ve had with a comic in recent years. Plus it’s got one of my fave Joker designs. Short, sweet, and with a lot of great stuff, it similarly to the DC Absolute Universe shows that you can take a character in any direction and still have a great outcome as long as you stay true to said character's core. I honestly wish we can have more of this universe in the future, but even if we don’t this is still a great miniseries.


Scott Pilgrim EX (Demo)

I've been meaning to get into Scott Pilgrim for a while so when I saw the demo during Steam Next Fest I just couldn’t help myself. The half hour the demo lasted me was pretty fun. Very tight gameplay, really fast paced too, a pretty neat little taste of what is shaping up to be a great Beat ā€˜em Up with some RPG elements. From what I’ve heard it’s also chock full of references too, I’m only familiar with the movie so I didn’t get tons of them but I’m sure fans loved them.


Gisaku

This movie is like an anime except for the fact that it isn’t, instead it’s like an european action cartoon from the 2000s, so like, close enough. Gisaku is a Spanish animation movie that despite what it might seem at first glance is only as much of anime as Avatar, Wakfu, Dinofroz, Code Lyoko, Voltron and a couple of others are. If we really get into detail, this movie feels like a hybrid of Winx Club, Huntik, and a bit of Jackie Chan Adventures, but with way higher animation budget and it’s periodically interrupted by a Traveler’s Guide to Spain. And also two of the characters look like Shinri and Asuka from Evangelion, which I’m choosing to believe is a reference. That being said I had a lot of fun with it, it’s not winning any awards, and there’s a lot of stuff that happens for a movie of this length, but I did still enjoy it. Kid me would’ve been obsessed.


Lord of Mysteries

Trigger warning: Very violent show, there’s quite a bit of body horror and many characters meet gruesome fates throughout the story, not for the faint of heart.

Ok, first off, this is one of the most stunning shows I’ve ever seen, both in visuals and soundtrack. Victorian settings, body horror, absolutely terrifying sequences, magic and occultist bullshit, people with British accents in the English dub, this has Bloodborne written all over it. With writing good enough to make me cry at some character deaths as well. It’s one of those slower shows that drip feed you information as the plot progresses, not for everyone, specially with the bad pacing of the first few eps, but the type of people that like to take their time theorizing and trying to solve mysteries before they unfold will absolutely love it as long as you can stomach all the horror elements. It’s called ā€œLord of Mysteriesā€ for a reason.


Perfectly a Strangeness

Kind of a random title for what is essentially 15 minutes of Donkeys walking with crazy cinematography. I kinda fuck with it though, it almost feels like a shitpost. Regardless, that was a weird way to end my February media recap.


2 Kudos

Comments

Displaying 0 of 0 comments ( View all | Add Comment )