i made new jirai friends recently and tried explaining to them where i am in alt subculture.
for me i started as an emo in middle school and i was super strict about not being a poser. but as i got older i was like, i like other music and fashion, but i still believe in the values and understand the history... so i juststarted calling myself generally alternative because i am mixed up with different subcultures.
like at first i really liked scene music and i realize you can mix different styles, i met scenemos and emo goths. When i first found menhera it was because i was super into jfashion, but the mental healtha wareness and advocacy was really important to me at the time. The makeup used red to make u look sick and i loved it and still use it in my makeup often. And the fashion itself was my style, i was a femboy in high school so i often wore oversized shirts and thigh highs. a lot of people think that femboy fashion is inherently sexual because they see gender non conformity as a kink and not a gender expression. honestly its fucked up and homophobic but that's why i would end up spending times with furries or goths because they had the same rumors and misconceptions made about them too. thats why i learned that you don't need to strictly follow rules to be alternative, just be weird and yourself.
i guess thats why menhera fashion also stood out to me so much. its accessible and looks cute and comfortable, but when u look closer at it there's a lot of messages in the clothes. i think that part is really punk too.
Comments
Displaying 1 of 1 comments ( View all | Add Comment )
Maxi manko
I love this I relate so much I swear when I was younger I was into and still am very into J fashion I just didn't know a name at the time beside that ALT fashion is cool I def over time calmed down on being so strict and let myself wear some other clothes once in a while hahah ! its always fun though to experiment in style good read thank you very much ! :)) btw what's your fav style to wear at the moment ?
My current style is just whatever I would wear at the psych ward. Just baggy plaid pj's and oversized t shirts lately but that's cuz
My style is still a mix of emo and menhera, but subculture wise I lean more into menhera's subculture and scenemo subculture. Lately the misinformation of what menhera is has gotten INSANE and people are back to using the term menhera not to describe the subculture about mental health awareness and advocacy... But rather to call u crazy
A lot of people confuse menhera with jirai lately. U can be both sure but they aren't the same thing at all...
by xsuicideshy; ; Report
We shouldn't be strict with ourselves over the fashion because alternatives subculture is so much more than just the style lol
by xsuicideshy; ; Report
I love this and your very right im not big into the names and everything but I have noticed there is people like that which sucks - because each subculture has its own special things that make the fashion. also mood we share the same fit hah - thanks for chatting !
by Maxi manko; ; Report