so i met this guy recently. he's new to the city. we met at the club during halloween. it's not every day you meet someone who's on the same weird wavelength yk? we're both into the same music, have that same alternative mindset, same kinda weird/fucked up (?) sense of humor. feels like we could talk forever about nothing and still be entertained.
but at the same time....... he's a guy. im really seeing how much that affects how we connect. we can talk about the surface stuff and be totally on the same page but when we go deeper like on emotional stuff- that's where it starts to feel different.
i mean..... being socialized as a guy vs a girl really does make a difference. it's not his fault, it's just how things are. but sometimes he says stuff that just...... doesnt hit the same. like there's this depth of empathy i have that he doesnt always get. not that he's a bad person or anything, he just kinda lacks that awareness sometimes. but im used to this kind of thing at this point when it comes to making connections with men.
he's still cool though don't get me wrong. still a good person. just a little....... immature? i mean he's younger and still figuring things out. i get it. we all are.
but it's nice to have another alternative person around. someone who gets the music, gets the vibe, gets the whole "i refuse to be part of the flock" thing. even if he's not as emotionally in tune as i am it's still nice to have someone to talk to about things that no one else really gets and finally having a looooot more reasons to go outside instead of rotting in my room. going outside does wonders for my mental health (who wouldve thought right lol).
we don't have to be exactly the same. i think that's the point of friendship. less about finding a mirror of yourself but someone who challenges you, makes you think about things a little differently.
i dunno it's just nice to not feel so alone in this boring and small city. even if he's still got some growing up to do.
Comments
Displaying 2 of 2 comments ( View all | Add Comment )
macokusa
Its crazy when 19 year old does 19 year old things.
i wasn't like that when i was 19. which is why i'm more so focusing on how he's socialized as a boy.
by nikolai . ..; ; Report
𝐳𝐢𝐭 ౨ৎ
he'll eventually get there and thats good to hear!
thank u ^w^ n i hope so ....
by nikolai . ..; ; Report