Veronica Malanotte's profile picture

Published by


Category: Books and Stories

Greek Mythology Lesson Day 3 - Ares


Who is Ares?

Ares is the Olympian god of war. However, unlike Athena, he represents merely its destructive capacity and is typically the personification of sheer violence and brutality. Consequently, he was loved neither by gods nor by men. That is, with the exception of Aphrodite, who bore him many children out of wedlock.

What did Ares rule over?

He had ruled over the War and the Courage.

Where did Ares live?

Ares' home was Mount Olympus.

How many children did Ares have?

Ares had 26 siblings: Aeacus, Angelos, Aphrodite, Apollo, Artemis, Athena, Dionysus, Eileithyia, Enyo, Eris, Ersa, Hebe, Helen of Troy, Hephaestus, Heracles, Hermes, Minos, Pandia, Persephone, Perseus, Rhadamanthus, the Graces, the Horae, the Litae, the Muses and the Moirai.

Who where the consorts of Ares?

Ares' consorts were Aphrodite, Calliope and Otrera.

What were the symbols of Ares?

His symbols were the Sword, the Spear, the Shield, the Helmet and the Chariot.

Which were Ares' sacred plants?

Ares' had none but is sacred animals were sacred animals were the Dog, the Boar, the Vulture and the Serpent.



0 Kudos


Displaying 0 of 0 comments ( View all | Add Comment )