Sivonratmeat's profile picture

Published by

published
updated

Category: News and Politics

Addendum: why I'm leaving Spacehey

Before I start, I am of the belief that the assassination of Kirk isn't morally justifiable. Murdering someone is never okay. However, I don't believe in condemning people for being apathetic, celebrating, or breathing a sigh of relief after his passing, either. These two statements can go hand in hand. 


(I encourage you to have a civil discussion in the comments below, or share your thoughts if you disagree, agree, or feel ambivalent about the whole thing. I will still read them before I stop going here completely if the moderators won't censor or ban me- although me replying will not be a guarantee. However, please don't spout vitriol at me. That will not be productive. If you want a TLDR, you could also scroll all the way down. )


Two of the moderators posted their stances on Kirk's death, and their decision to ban multiple people who are celebrating his death is a red flag to me. I've also recently seen one of their stance on Luigi Mangione as well. 


https://blog.spacehey.com/entry?id=1329231 

https://blog.spacehey.com/entry?id=1910206 

https://blog.spacehey.com/entry?id=1911437 


Before you call me heartless, read further. 

Edit: You need to keep in mind why people celebrate to begin with. He spread harmful rhetoric when he was alive. He pushed for legislation that harms minorities. I find it iffy that they can excuse xenophobia, lgbtphobia, misogyny, etc but draw the line at celebrating someone’s death.


For the Luigi one, he isn't guilty, and his trial is still unfinished, so they can't hold this double standard. Praising a supposed killer who is legally innocent is not equivalent to criticizing a dead, fundamentally guilty man. It's a false equivalency because they care more about defending rich, white, right-leaning, or fascist men. 

Edit: Unlike Mangione who has no concrete evidence that he is guilty of terrorism, Kirk has solid proof that he is the one who has been spreading harmful rhetoric.


Looking down on the celebrations of death is very Christian of everyone. Celebrations of death are not a bad thing; they happen often in other cultures and other ideologies. 


www.google.com/search?client=opera-gx&q=celebration+of+death&sourceid=opera&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8 

Edit: It was unclear, but specifically Victorian Era and Execution celebrations in eras like that as well as many other pagan European cultures. Not Day of the Dead.


For most of these banned people, I think it's more of a "thank goodness he's gone" because he was spreading harmful, violent rhetoric. Which is still looked down upon by Christians because it isn't "the right way to grieve". People's pearl-clutching at folks celebrating is like an untapped subconscious cultural standard that people are weaponizing, which is almost entirely a modern Christian ideal. It's very narrow minded of them. You can't demand sympathy from the people Kirk hurt.


So no, celebration does NOT break the rules of nonviolence. 


I have a feeling that the mods aren't among the minority groups being affected by Kirk's rhetoric, so they don't understand. 


TLDR: The mods are essentially censoring people and using the infringement on people's free speech to justify it, like it is normal. 


Edit 2: The government *is*  infringing on the first amendment. There have been multiple politicians calling for the firings of people over words about Kirk, one of the mods mentioned that and that is what the point was targeted to

Spacehey’s moderators are censoring users and justifying it by hiding behind their arbitrary ruleset while posing it as the website’s official rules.


Their behavior made me realize that this entire site isn't worth it.



8 Kudos

Comments

Displaying 2 of 2 comments ( View all | Add Comment )

Dana Scully

Dana Scully's profile picture

" their decision to ban multiple people who are celebrating his death is a red flag to me."

How is it a red flag? It blatantly violates the rules regarding violence and hate, as Gray's blog clearly states. Mods doing their job as mods is a red flag? Make that make sense.

"Praising a supposed killer who is legally innocent is not equivalent to criticizing a dead, fundamentally guilty man."

Lol I'm sorry, what exactly was Charlie Kirk "fundamentally guilty" of? And who decides that? Who made you the judge and jury? What crimes did he commit? You say Luigi Mangione is innocent because he hasn't been technically convicted, yet in the same breath Charlie Kirk is automatically "guilty", no questions asked. Also, celebrating that a man was murdered is NOT equivalent to "criticizing" that man, be so fr.

"Celebrations of death are not a bad thing; they happen often in other cultures and other ideologies. (www.google.com/search?client=opera-gx&q=celebration+of+death&sourceid=opera&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8)

Girl.... I know you didn't just try that LMAO. Dia de los Muertos honors and commemorates the dead and celebrates their lives -- the fact that you compare THAT to a bunch of hateful people cheering because someone they didn't like was violently killed is actually batshit insane. And it's actually extremely disrespectful to those cultures to compare that deranged behavior to their traditions for their loved ones.

"For most of these banned people, I think it's more of a "thank goodness he's gone" because he was spreading harmful, violent rhetoric."

Clearly you haven't actually seen the posts and people you're defending. Your example would be disturbing enough for someone to say, but it doesn't even come close to what people have -actually- been saying. Here is exactly what you're supporting:

https://imgur.com/a/ti3yM3q
https://imgur.com/a/hV7LGN5
https://imgur.com/a/x08GS7Q
https://imgur.com/a/trTZtKu
https://imgur.com/a/Ma9Sy6p
https://imgur.com/a/Dd8zn5x
https://imgur.com/a/vlcQAX0
https://imgur.com/a/Bh8burv
https://imgur.com/a/RjHdCof
https://imgur.com/a/TKRwXeb

You seriously want to pretend this is the same is "cultural celebrations of death"?


"The mods are essentially censoring people and using the infringement on people's free speech to justify it"

The first amendment protects you from GOVERNMENT interferance, as in, you can't be arrested for saying "Charlie Kirk sucks" and you can't be harmed or killed for it. It does NOT protect you from breaking rules that YOU agreed to follow on a website, and it does NOT protect you from getting fired from your job. The first amendment is not a get out of jail free card that you can use when faced with the consequences of your actions.

So yeah anyways, this whole post is pretty batshit insane and you definitely should leave tbh.


Report Comment

itrhld

itrhld's profile picture

> I have a feeling that the mods aren't among the minority groups being affected by Kirk's rhetoric, so they don't understand.

yeah, sadly how i think it is as well...


Report Comment



Yeah, it sucks. I’m currently looking for alternatives

by Sivonratmeat; ; Report